SOCIÉTÉ DE PLACEMENT PASSIF À L’ÉTRANGER (SPEP)

Ressources

Chez Purpose, nous accordons la priorité à nos clients et nous nous assurons de leur offrir la meilleure expérience possible en matière de placement. Ainsi, nous sommes conscients des inquiétudes des investisseurs au sujet des règles américaines concernant les sociétés de placement étrangères passives américaines (U.S. Passive Foreign Investment Company, PFIC) et nous jouons un rôle d’avant-garde dans le secteur du placement en mettant tous les fonds Purpose à la disposition des investisseurs canadiens qui sont considérés comme « personnes des États-Unis » en vertu des lois fiscales américaines.

Purpose fournira tous les ans, avant la date limite à laquelle les particuliers américains doivent avoir produit leur déclaration de revenus, les relevés d’information requis pour les SPEP (« PFIC Annual Information Statements ») pour chacun de nos fonds d’investissement.

Télécharger document de SPEP

TÉLÉCHARGER DOCUMENT DE SPEP

Si vous avez besoin d’un document de SPEP d’une année antérieure,
veuillez communiquer avec nous par courriel.

Questions fréquemment posées

La foire aux questions ci-après a été créée afin de vous aider à mieux comprendre les règles concernant les SPEP et leurs répercussions.

La définition d’une « personne des États-Unis » (au sens de U.S. person) est plutôt large et englobe généralement les résidents des États-Unis, les citoyens des États-Unis, les détenteurs de carte verte, d’autres personnes ayant un lien important avec les États-Unis (par exemple qui sont nées aux États-Unis ou dont le père ou la mère est citoyen américain), ainsi que certaines entités constituées aux États-Unis. Il faut prendre note que les citoyens américains et les détenteurs de carte verte sont considérés comme « personnes des États-Unis », peu importe leur pays de résidence.

Toute société étrangère (non américaine) qui répond au critère sur le revenu ou à celui sur les actifs est considérée comme une SPEP. Le statut de SPEP en tant que tel ne touche pas les sociétés non américaines et n’a aucune incidence sur les actionnaires non américains.

  1. Une société respecte le critère sur le revenu si soixante-quinze pour cent (75 %) ou plus de son revenu brut consiste en revenus hors exploitation (passifs).
  2. Une société respecte le critère sur les actifs si cinquante pour cent (50 %) ou plus de ses actifs moyens consistent en actifs qui produisent ou pourraient produire des revenus hors exploitation, ou qui sont des actifs, comme les liquidités ou des terrains nus, qui ne produisent aucun revenu.

Les revenus hors exploitation comprennent, entre autres, les dividendes, les intérêts, les loyers, les redevances et les gains en capital découlant de la disposition de titres. Des règles particulières s’appliquent aux « personnes des États-Unis » qui détiennent des participations dans des SPEP. Ces règles, qui existent depuis 1986, ont été promulguées dans le cadre de la loi américaine de réforme fiscale intitulée Tax Reform Act of 1986 comme façon de placer les investisseurs détenant des fonds de placement étrangers sur un pied d’égalité avec ceux qui détiennent des fonds de placement américains.

En 2010, l’Internal Revenue Service (IRS) a publié une clarification indiquant que les fonds communs de placement canadiens sont considérés comme sociétés aux fins de l’impôt américain et, comme tels, sont assujettis aux règles concernant les SPEP. De plus, de nouvelles exigences de déclaration associées aux règles concernant les SPEP ont été annoncées récemment et devraient entrer en vigueur sous peu.

Les « personnes des États-Unis » qui détiennent des actions dans des SPEP doivent déclarer ces placements annuellement en remplissant un formulaire IRS 8621 (Information Return by a Shareholder of a Passive Foreign Investment Company or Qualified Electing Fund) distinct pour chacun. Un investisseur ou un conseiller peut obtenir de plus amples renseignements (en anglais) au sujet du formulaire 8621 en suivant le lien ci-après vers le site Web de l’IRS. Cliquer ici.

1. Évaluation à la valeur du marché
L’actionnaire d’une SPEP peut choisir, chaque année, de déclarer tout gain ou toute perte sur ses actions comme s’il les avait vendues à la juste valeur marchande. Dans le cadre de choix d’une évaluation à la valeur du marché, les investisseurs sont tenus de respecter les critères suivants annuellement :

  • déclarer toutes les distributions (intérêts, dividendes, gains en capital, etc.) en tant que revenus ordinaires;
  • comptabiliser toute augmentation ou diminution de la valeur du fonds en tant que gain ou perte sur leurs actions comme si le fonds était vendu à la fin de chaque année.

2. Choix visant un fonds électif admissible (« Qualified Electing Fund, QEF »)

  • Toute « personne des États-Unis » détenant des actions dans une SPEP peut choisir d’inclure dans son revenu sa quote-part du revenu ordinaire et des gains en capital nets de la SPEP (le même traitement fiscal que l’actionnaire d’un fonds de placement américain).
  • Veuillez noter que les feuillets T3 et T5 délivrés par les fonds communs de placement canadiens concernent uniquement l’impôt canadien et ne contiennent pas suffisamment de renseignements pour appuyer un choix visant un QEF.

Les investisseurs devraient consulter leur conseiller financier ou un expert en fiscalité américaine avant de prendre une telle décision. Cependant, le QEF semble être généralement préféré parce qu’il correspond davantage au traitement fiscal des fonds communs de placement dans les régimes d’imposition tant américains que canadiens.

Lorsqu’une « personne des États-Unis » ne produit pas le formulaire 8621 et qu’elle ne choisit pas entre les deux options décrites ci-dessus, le traitement fiscal suivant s’applique :

  1. Tous les gains comptabilisés lors de la disposition des actions d’une SPEP et toutes les distributions reçues de cette dernière pendant l’année qui excèdent cent-vingt-cinq pour cent (125 %) des distributions moyennes reçues au cours des trois années précédentes sont imposés comme revenu de placement ordinaire pour cette année.
  2. Les montants répartis aux années d’imposition précédentes seront assujettis à l’impôt américain au taux marginal le plus élevé de même qu’à des frais d’intérêts réputés.

Ces règles auront sans doute des répercussions sur les placements détenus dans des comptes non enregistrés, les CELI et les REER. L’effet qu’elles pourraient avoir sur les actions de SPEP détenues dans des comptes d’épargne-retraite tels que les REER et les FERR n’est pas encore très clair.

Purpose Investments recommande à tous les particuliers et aux conseillers en placements de consulter un expert en fiscalité. Ces renseignements sont fournis à titre d’information uniquement et ne sauraient être considérés comme source de conseils en fiscalité.

Fields marked with an * are requiredLES CHAMPS MARQUÉS D'UN * SONT OBLIGATOIRES
Fields marked with an * are requiredLES CHAMPS MARQUÉS D'UN * SONT OBLIGATOIRES

Passive Foreign Investment Company (PFIC)

Resources

At Purpose we put our clients first, making sure that their investment experience with us is the best experience possible. With that mindset, we recognize the concern among investors about the U.S. Passive Foreign Investment Company (PFIC) rules and have taken an active position in the investment industry by making all Purpose Funds available to Canadian investors who are classified as “U.S. persons” under U.S. tax law.

Purpose will provide PFIC Annual Information Statements for all of our investment funds prior to the April U.S. tax reporting deadline for individuals, on an annual basis.

PFIC Annual Information Statement:

IMPORTANT TAX NOTICE TO U.S. SHARE HOLDERS

This statement is provided for Shareholders who are United States persons for purposes of the U.S. Internal Revenue Code of 1986, as amended (“IRC”) and the regulations thereunder. It is not relevant to other shareholders.

TO ENSURE COMPLIANCE WITH TREASURY DEPARTMENT CIRCULAR 230, YOU ARE HEREBY NOTIFIED THAT ANYTHING CONTAINED IN THIS NOTICE CONCERNING ANY FEDERAL TAX OR OTHER ISSUE IS NOT INTENDED OR WRITTEN TO BE USED, AND CANNOT BE USED, BY ANY PERSON OR ENTITY FOR THE PURPOSE OF (i) AVOIDING PENALTIES THAT MAY BE IMPOSED ON ANY TAXPAYER OR (ii) PROMOTING, MARKETING OR RECOMMENDING TO ANOTHER PARTY ANY MATTERS ADDRESSED HEREIN.

The PFIC Annual Information Statement is being provided pursuant to the requirements of Treasury Regulation Section 1.1295-1(g) (1). The PFIC Annual Information Statement contains information to enable you, should you so choose based on the advice of your tax advisors in light of your personal tax circumstances, to elect to treat the Fund as a qualified electing fund (“QEF”).

A U.S. shareholder who makes a QEF election is required to annually include in his or her income his or her pro rata share of the ordinary earnings and net capital gains of the Fund, whether or not that entity distributes any amounts to its shareholders. If you do not elect to treat the Fund as a QEF, then if the Fund is a PFIC for any year during your holding period, adverse tax consequences could result.

The QEF election is generally made on Form 8621 (“Return by a Shareholder of a Passive Foreign Investment Company or Qualified Electing Fund”) on or before the due date, including extensions, for the income tax return with respect to the tax year to which the election relates.

THE INFORMATION IS PROVIDED IN ORDER TO ASSIST SHAREHOLDERS IN MAKING CALCULATIONS AND DOES NOT CONSTITUTE TAX ADVICE. THE U.S. TAX LAWS REGARDING PFICS ARE EXTREMELY COMPLEX AND SHAREHOLDERS ARE ADVISED TO CONSULT THEIR OWN TAX ADVISORS CONCERNING THE OVERALL TAX CONSEQUENCES OF THE OWNERSHIP OF UNITS ARISING IN THEIR OWN PARTICULAR SITUATIONS UNDER UNITED STATES FEDERAL, STATE, LOCAL OR FOREIGN LAW.

Download PFIC Document

DOWNLOAD PFIC DOCUMENT

If you require a PFIC document for a previous year, please contact us by email.

FAQs

The following list of frequently asked questions has been created to help you better understand how PFIC rules might affect you.

The definition of a U.S. person is broad and generally includes U.S. residents, U.S. citizens, U.S. green card holders, other persons with a substantial connection to the U.S (such as being born in the U.S. or being born to U.S. citizen parents), and certain entities organized in the U.S. It should be noted that U.S. citizens and green card holders are considered U.S. persons regardless of their country of residence.

Any foreign corporation (non-U.S.) meeting either the income test or the asset test is considered a PFIC. PFIC status does not, itself, have any impact on the non-U.S. corporation or non-U.S. shareholders.

  1. The Income Test is met if 75% or more of the corporation’s gross income consists of passive income, and
  2. The Asset Test is met if 50% or more of the corporation’s average assets consist of assets that produce passive or could produce passive income, or are assets (such as cash and bare land) that produce no income.

Passive income includes, among other things, dividends, interest, rent, royalties and capital gains from the disposition of securities. Special U.S. tax rules apply to U.S. persons who own PFICs.  These rules have existed since 1986 and were enacted as part of the Tax Reform Act of 1986 as a way of placing owners of offshore investment funds on a similar footing to owners of U.S. investment funds.

In 2010, the Internal Revenue Service (IRS) issued a clarification that Canadian mutual funds are classified as corporations for U.S. tax purposes and, as such, are subject to the PFIC rules. In addition, new reporting requirements associated with PFIC rules were recently announced and are expected to come into force in the near future.

U.S. persons who own PFICs must report annually each PFIC investment on a separate IRS Form 8621 (Information Return by a Shareholder of a Passive Foreign Investment Company or Qualified Electing Fund). An investor or advisor can follow this link to the IRS website for more information on Form 8621 click here.

1. Market-to-Market Election

A shareholder of a PFIC may elect each year to recognize gain or loss on the shares as if they had sold the PFIC shares at fair market value. Under the Mark-to-Market election, investors must, on an annual basis,

  • Report all distributions (interest, dividends, capital gains, etc.) as ordinary income; and
  • Recognize all increases/decreases to the value of the fund as a gain/loss on their holdings as if the fund was sold at the end of each year.

2. Qualified Electing Fund (QEF) Election

  • Each U.S. person owning shares of a PFIC may elect to include their pro-rata share of the ordinary income and net capital gains of the PFIC (that same treatment as a shareholder of a U.S. investment fund must do)
  • Please note that T3 and T5 slips issued by Canadian mutual funds are for Canadian tax purposes only and do not contain sufficient information to support a QEF election.

Investors should consult with their financial advisor or a U.S. tax specialist to make this decision. Generally, the QEF election is preferred because it is more closely aligned with the tax treatment of mutual fund investments by both the U.S. and Canadian tax systems.

If the U.S. person does not file Form 8621 and does not make one of the two elections above, the following tax treatment would apply:

  1. Any gains recognized on disposition of the PFIC shares and distributions received from a PFIC during the year greater than 125% of the average distributions received during the previous three years would be taxed as ordinary investment income during the year.
  2. The amounts allocated to prior tax years will be subject to U.S. tax at the highest marginal rate and also subject to deemed interest charge.

These rules are expected to affect investments in non-registered accounts, TFSAs and RESPs. The effect of these rules on PFICs held in retirement savings accounts such as RRSPs and RRIFs is currently unclear.

Purpose Investments recommends that all individuals or investment advisors speak with a qualified tax professional. This information should be used for informational purposes only and is not regarded as tax advice.

Fields marked with an * are requiredLES CHAMPS MARQUÉS D'UN * SONT OBLIGATOIRES
Fields marked with an * are requiredLES CHAMPS MARQUÉS D'UN * SONT OBLIGATOIRES

ENTER THE WORD "ANTISPAM" INTO THIS BOX
(WITHOUT THE QUOTATION MARKS)